How many times has India won the T20 World Cup?

By: | July 5, 2024 | Leave a Comment

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 concluded on June 29th, as India emerged victorious in the final showdown against South Africa, securing a 7-run victory. This is India’s second T20 World Cup win, making them one of the most successful teams along with West Indies and England, who also have two titles each. The final took place at the Kensington Oval in Barbados, where captain Rohit Sharma led India to victory, ending a long wait for an ICC title since MS Dhoni’s win in 2007. In this blog, we will look at the list of all T20 World Cup winners from 2007 to 2024 to help you learn more about the tournament’s history.

How many World Cups has India won?

India’s cricketing history is rich with moments of glory on the global stage, marked by triumphs in both ODI and T20 World Cup competitions. From their historic victory in the 1983 Cricket World Cup to their recent success in the 2024 ICC T20 World Cup, India has consistently showcased exceptional skill and determination. Let’s explore India’s journey through these iconic tournaments, celebrating their historic achievements on the global stage.

Cricket World Cup: 1983

In 1983, India achieved a historic milestone in cricket by winning their first-ever Cricket World Cup. Hosted in England, India faced the dominant West Indies in the final. Against all odds, India delivered a stunning performance, securing victory with a remarkable 43-run margin, forever etching their name in cricketing history.

ICC T20 World Cup: 2007

The inaugural ICC T20 World Cup in 2007 marked a new era in cricket, and India made an indelible mark by clinching the championship title. Held in South Africa, India faced arch-rivals Pakistan in a thrilling final. In a closely contested match, India emerged triumphant, winning by a slender margin of 5 runs, sparking nationwide celebrations.

Cricket World Cup: 2011

In 2011, India co-hosted the ICC Cricket World Cup with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, setting the stage for another glorious chapter in their cricketing journey. In front of a fervent home crowd at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, India showcased their dominance in the ODI format. Chasing down Sri Lanka’s target comfortably, India secured their second Cricket World Cup title with a convincing 6-wicket victory.

ICC T20 World Cup: 2024

The year 2024 saw India once again asserting their supremacy in T20 cricket on the global stage. Co-hosted by West Indies and USA, the ICC T20 World Cup witnessed intense competition culminating in a thrilling final showdown. India faced South Africa, and in a fiercely contested match, emerged victorious by a margin of 7 runs. This triumph marked India’s second ICC T20 World Cup title, highlighting their consistency and skill in shorter formats of the game.

India’s Journey in the ICC T20 World Cups

The ICC T20 World Cup has been a rollercoaster of emotions for Indian cricket fans, marked by triumphs and heartbreaks across the years. Here’s a look back at India’s performance in this prestigious tournament

T20 World Cup 2007 : First Victory

Hosted in South Africa, the inaugural T20 World Cup marked a historic moment for Indian cricket. Led by Captain MS Dhoni, the young Indian team stunned the world by clinching the title. Yuvraj Singh’s heroic 6 sixes against England and an unforgettable bowl-out victory over Pakistan set the tone. In a thrilling final against Pakistan, India emerged victorious, with Dhoni’s strategic brilliance and Joginder Sharma’s nerve-wracking final over securing a historic win.

T20 World Cups 2009 and 2010: Struggles and Setbacks

India’s title defense in 2009, hosted in England, was marred by internal strife and disappointing performances, failing to advance beyond the Super 8 stage. Similarly, in 2010, hosted in the West Indies, despite a promising start with Suresh Raina’s century, India faltered in the Super 8s, unable to secure a single win.

T20 World Cups 2012 and 2014: Close Calls

In 2012, held in Sri Lanka, India displayed commendable form in the group stage but fell short in the Super 8s due to unfavorable conditions and net run rate complexities. The 2014 tournament in Bangladesh saw India’s path to the final thwarted by Sri Lanka, despite Virat Kohli’s stellar performances throughout the campaign.

T20 World Cup 2016: Kohli Shines

As hosts in 2016, India showcased resilience after an early scare, powered by Virat Kohli’s outstanding batting. Despite Kohli’s heroics, India fell short in the semi-finals against the West Indies, who eventually clinched the title.

T20 World Cups 2021 and 2022: Ups and Downs

The 2021 edition in UAE/Oman saw India’s campaign cut short by losses to Pakistan and New Zealand, reflecting a team grappling with fatigue post a demanding Indian T20 League season. In 2022, hosted in Australia, India showed promise but faced a humbling defeat in the semi-finals against eventual champions England.

T20 World Cup 2024: Return to Glory

Returning to the West Indies, where they last lifted the trophy in 2010, India’s journey in 2024 was characterized by dominance. Unbeaten in the Super 8s, India triumphed over England in the semi-finals and edged past South Africa in a thrilling final to claim their second T20 World Cup title. Jasprit Bumrah’s stellar bowling and Virat Kohli’s leadership were pivotal in this triumphant campaign.

Looking Ahead: The Road to T20 World Cup 2026

As India prepares for the upcoming T20 series against Zimbabwe, the focus shifts to nurturing new talents and evolving strategies for the 2026 T20 World Cup, slated to be held in India and Sri Lanka. The challenge now is to build on past successes and forge a path towards further glory in the world of T20 cricket.


India’s journey in the ICC T20 World Cup has been a saga of highs and lows, marked by unforgettable moments of triumph and resilience. As the cricketing landscape evolves, the quest for excellence continues, driven by the passion and unwavering support of millions of fans worldwide.

Join the excitement of cricket and create your fantasy team on Vision11, the best fantasy app for cricket, to experience the thrill of managing your players and winning prizes. Start playing today and unleash your cricketing expertise!

FAQ’s ?

How Many Times Has India Won the T20 World Cup?

India has won the ICC Men's T20 World Cup twice: in 2007 and most recently in 2024.

How Many Times Has India Been Runner-up in the T20 World Cup?

India has been runner-up once in the T20 World Cup, which was in 2014.

In the 2024 T20 World Cup, which team did India defeat?

India defeated South Africa in the 2024 T20 World Cup final to secure their victory.

What's Next For Team India?

Looking ahead, India is preparing for upcoming series and focusing on the 2026 T20 World Cup in India and Sri Lanka.

Who Won the First Cricket World Cup?

In 1975, the West Indies emerged victorious as the inaugural champions of the Cricket World Cup.

Which Team Has Never Won the World Cup?

South Africa has never won the Cricket World Cup, despite several strong performances over the years.

Share Post on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *